Naptime Craft: Springtime Baby Sweater

WHERE have I BEEN, you ask? Well, after a crazy run of brother-in-law’s wedding, my family visiting, sick babies, and general craziness and havoc, I’ve had my hands full. But I have not been idle! Actually, that’s not entirely true. With the change of seasons, I got a little craft-stuck: I could not, for the life of me, think of anything to make that wasn’t a big fluffy scarf or mittens or some other wintery thing. Plus, I was bored of making the same ol’ projects. So I decided, what the heck. I’ll give something more complicated a try. How ’bout a baby sweater? Sure. And if it’s a disaster, I’ll rip it all out and wind the yarn back into a ball and never speak of it. It will be my disastrous little secret.

So I hopped on Ravelry and searched through their patterns, automatically tossing out anything that was knitted (duh, since I don’t knit), super girly, or super complicated-looking. This left me with just a handful of patterns, two of which I thought had the most potential. Then I got freaked out by the prospect of sleeves, and piecing it together, and ending up with something inside out… Which left me with the Bombay Love pattern from Yarny Days. And PEOPLE, this pattern ROCKS. It rocks in an all-caps, italicized kind of way. It is adorable and so easy it’s shocking.

This short-sleeved little sweater is crocheted in one piece from the top down. There is nothing to piece together, no separate sleeves to make, nada. And it’s worked in double crochet, so it goes very quickly. As usual, I made a couple modifications of my own, but nothing major to the pattern.

Here’s what I used:

  • Lion Brand Wool-Ease yarn in Seaspray (for the sweater) and Red Barn (for the edging and closures). It uses less than one skein for a whole sweater!
  • A size J-10 (6 mm) crochet hook
  • A large-eyed needle
  • 2 buttons

A few notes:

  • You can easily change the size of the sweater by changing hook and/or yarn size. Mine is larger than hers (worsted weight yarn and a J hook gave me a sweater that I think is 6 month size, meaning, it was a little small on my boys) but it took a couple tries to get it the size I wanted. I started another sweater, again with worsted yarn, but this time with an H-8 (5mm) hook and it’s more like a 0-3 month size.
  • The pattern author recommends 2 sc in each corner when you’re doing the edging, or the edges will curl. I’m still having a little curling, so I would recommend 3 sc in the corners.
  • I sewed on my buttons so the sweater front is crossed over the other side. I like this look, plus mine turned out a little wide, so this made it narrower. For a very chubby baby, this might make it too slim.
  • The pattern author made her sweater closure by knitting a cord with double-pointed needles. Like I said, I don’t knit, so you have a couple options. You could buy a little bit of cord or ribbon, or (and this is what I did), you could crochet a simple closure. Here’s how I made mine: ch 26; leave enough chs to make a loop that your button can pass though; sc in each remaining ch and fasten off.

So gather your yarn and head over to the Bombay Love pattern at Yarny Days. Get a move on!

8 Comments

Filed under Naptime Craft, Projects and Crafty Things

8 responses to “Naptime Craft: Springtime Baby Sweater

  1. Looks sharp in those colors. I’ll tell you how cute it is when you post a photo of it on one of your boys. 🙂

  2. I love this pattern!

    I’ve made two so far and they’re the perfect baby gift to work up last minute. One parent told me it was the perfect last layer for their little girl in their drafty apartment.

    • It is such a wonderful pattern! I didn’t believe it could go as quickly as it did. I’ve already made another. Which is funny, because I have no idea who to give them to! People have babies all the time, though, right? 🙂

      • Seems like it! I made one to give right away and held the other in reserve. Last week I was invited to lunch with a classmate who’s heading off on maternity leave and I had an instant baby present ready to give her! Which means it’s time to make another or two just in case. :p

  3. Megan Carter

    LooKs super cute, Bonnie! I am so impressed with your mad crochet skills!!

  4. Dagmar B

    Awesome sweater! Say, do you have any tips on making this for a 3 year old as far as sizing goes? I’d love to use this same yarn!

  5. Jean

    The links to the pattern seem to be on a website which has expired. This looks so cute, could you post the pattern, since it doesn’t seem to be accessible through the links? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

