Naptime Craft: Baby Leg Warmers

If you remember my Fashionable Lovelies post a couple weeks back, my brother-in-law is getting married this weekend. Both boys are in the wedding (because it would be pretty awkward to only include one twin) as ring bearers; they’ll be pulled down the aisle in a little sled the bride-to-be fixed up for them. This means FANCY clothes for my baby monkeys—and all white. I looked everywhere for white baby pants. I decided, finally, against sewing pants, since they would have to be lined to not be see-through. The only pairs I found to buy were either a) too thin or b) too holy-cow-these-tiny-pants-are-$40-per-pair expensive.

So what do you think I did? Bought a big skein of white yarn and made 2 pairs of baby leg warmers. I looked at all the crocheted baby leg warmers patterns I could find, like this one and this one here, but finally settled on this one from Alli Crafts. It’s a little fancier-looking without being too girly, and W O W, did it work up fast! I will definitely make these again for a baby gift, maybe with a little matching hat?

Here’s what I used:

  • Red Heart Super Saver yarn in White (I barely made a dent in 1 skein after completing 4 leg warmers.)
  • An H-8 (5mm) crochet hook
  • A large-eyed needle

Then go visit Alli Crafts for the pattern. And while you’re there, you really should check out her many other awesome (and FREE) patterns!

Work in progress: You can see the neat ribbed effect from the fpdc.

Notes:

I used Alli Craft’s own modification to fit 6-9 months. My boys wear 6-9 month clothes and this fit perfectly with the yarn and hook I used. (Her original pattern was much too small for them; I tried it first and pulled it out. Great for a newborn, though.)

______________________________________________

I did add a ribbed bit to the top cuff to make it look more finished. Here’s what I did:

  1. After completing your final round, join with slip stitch and chain 6.
  2. Turn, single crochet in back loop only beginning in the 2nd chain from the hook. Slip stitch into the top of the last round.
  3. **Ch 1, turn, sc back loop only in each sc (5 sts). Ch 1, turn, sc back loop only in each sc (5 sts); slip stitch into the top of the last round.
  4. Repeat from ** all the way around the leg warmer. Slip stitch through back loops of first and last rows to connect. Weave in ends.

______________________________________________

I recommend a nice, soft yarn if your baby will wear these more than once. The Red Heart is fine since they’ll wear them once, but it isn’t very soft.

4 Comments

Filed under Naptime Craft, Projects and Crafty Things

4 responses to “Naptime Craft: Baby Leg Warmers

  1. Reblogged this on lesley-anne pittard and commented:
    #BabyFAB

  2. HI Bonnie 🙂
    I am the mother of identical twin boys as well as a 3 year old and finally a little girl munchkin on the way in February! LOVE this pattern!

  3. Jodi

    Hello, thank you for posting this link and your addition to it. So creative! I’m a beginner and I’m having trouble understanding how to do your ribbing bit. Do I go all the way around in step 2 with sc? So, there would be a chain of 6 and then sc back down that and all the way around? Then I’m totally lost on step 3, sorry. Seems to me like back and forth with 5 sc wouldn’t get me very far into what the top of your cute warmers look like. Could you please help?

Leave a Reply

