Naptime Craft: Phone Cover (and Crocheting in Both Sides of a Chain)

I’ve been browsing through crochet patterns online for fun patterns to try, and found one for a phone cozy that looked simple and cute. It is worked in the round on both sides of the chain row. It took me some mental calesthenics to wrap my brain around that, so maybe I’m a bit dim, because it’s actually very simple:

I made mine for an iPhone, and ch 11 (so, 20 stitches total around, as in the diagram above) fit perfectly with my yarn and H hook. It could be easily made bigger to fit a tablet or eReader; just add more chains and more rounds.

Here’s what I used:

  • Deborah Norville Everyday Soft Worsted in Northern Lights
  • A size H-8 (5 mm) crochet hook
  • A large-eyed needle
  • A small button

And here’s the pattern.

Note: the original pattern has you leave one long side of the case open; my variation leaves a short side (the top or bottom) open. Totally personal preference. So where she chained 18 and worked 12 rounds, I chained 10 and worked about 22 rounds.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Naptime Craft, Projects and Crafty Things

One response to “Naptime Craft: Phone Cover (and Crocheting in Both Sides of a Chain)

  1. Got it! Confusing but your nifty drawing clarified it. Very cool. The yarn you used is fun and perfect for this project. Now, I have to think of something I need to cover…

Leave a Reply

