Make-It Gift: Sweet Yo-Yo Headband

Yes, I know that it’s been a couple (coughfive) days since Day 21. I have 7 month old twins and it’s almost Christmas. So sue me.

Back to business, though, I still have four days of posts left for you! And don’t worry, these are all things that you can whip up in the nick of time for Christmas… or save for next year, if your brain is already too fried.

Today, it’s a yo-yo headband, so sweet for a little girl, or fun and a little funky for an adult. And seriously easy. I finished mine in less than an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives, and part of that time was spent undoing knots in my thread. (I have a huge problem with thread knots.)

Here’s what you need:

  • Fabric: I used a little section of one of my husband’s old cotton button-downs, that had been retired due to an unfortunate turmeric incident (but some really fabulous lemon-turmeric rice!). You only need a piece maybe 6 or 8 inches square, so round up your scraps!
  • A headband: mine are Goody brand elastic headbands, from a multi-pack.
  • Scissors
  • A needle and thread
  • A template for your yo-yos: I use a red plastic cup. It’s sturdy and gives me a medium and small template with no work on my part.

Here’s what I did:

  1. Trace out one medium and two small circles onto your fabric using your template(s), then cut them out.
  2. Make your yo-yos; Tea Rose Home has a great tutorial with lots of pictures, and is explained much more clearly than mine would be.
  3. Sew your yo-yos to each other (make a couple tiny stitches right at the edge- it doesn’t have to be much, just enough to hold), then sew them to the headband.

That’s all! I want to make a few more, using up some of my funky vintage fabric scraps, since I do have the rest of a multi-pack of headbands…

Happy crafting, and happy giving!

Leave a comment

Filed under 25 Days of Christmas, Holidays, Projects and Crafty Things

Leave a Reply

