BONUS! Naptime Craft: Baby Leg Warmers

Legwarmers on babies are adorable but people. Those things cost like $12 per pair. And I have two babies! They are not $24-for-one-cute-day cute. Don’t worry, though! There is a cheaper option, just as cute, and it took me maybe a minute per pair. Will and Robert will be wearing them as part of their Halloween costume (Thing 1 and Thing 2). They’re so cute, people may faint as we pass. (The babies, not the leg warmers, although those are pretty cute, too.)

Baby Leg Warmers

You need two things. TWO. I kid you not. The only materials are a pair of women’s knee socks and a good, sharp pair of scissors. (You may also want a straight edge to get a nice, even line if your socks aren’t striped like mine are.)My socks were $3 at Walmart.

Take your socks and cut them straight across above the heel. Tug gently on the cut edge; it should roll up. You may need to help it roll evenly. That’s it! You’re done!

NOTE: I had planned to use this tutorial, which is simple and just as cute. I actually started making them that way- I had one bottom cuff completely done, and I was about to sew it on, when I realized the bottoms of the leg warmers, where I had cut off the sock foot, had rolled up all cutely (yes, socks can roll cutely). I can’t attest to how mine will hold up in the wash with an unfinished edge, though.

3 Comments

Filed under Naptime Craft, Projects and Crafty Things

3 responses to “BONUS! Naptime Craft: Baby Leg Warmers

  1. Love it! Boozle is in cloth diapers and I have been wanting some leg warmers for her as it gets cooler. I am so doing this!

    FYI, you can also use leg warmers to make faux long sleeves and stretch the littles wardrobe.

  2. Pingback: Happy Halloween! | ink & squid

  3. Pingback: Diaper Bag Tetris: How I Pack It | ink & squid

Leave a Reply

