What I Made: A Baby Hat!

(Yes, it is being displayed on a wine glass. We don’t have many baby-head-sized objects around here.)

While I was at the perinatologist Monday, my mom and I were flipping through one of the baby magazines. (There’s not much else to do there.) One of the ad photos had a picture of a baby with a little crocheted hat with little crocheted ears, and as I was looking at it I realized:

I CAN MAKE THAT!

So I decided to give it a shot. It’s unbelievably simple: 2 stitches, single crochet and double crochet, and all in the round, so very little counting and no sewing (except attaching the ears). It maybe took an hour and a half to do the whole thing, including weaving in my ends. It’s newborn-sized (roughly. I think.), so it’s about 12.5 inches around, and pretty stretchy because of the double crochet. Now, I want to make two in different shades of brown for The Boys.

A big WHOO HOO for crafts that can be done lying down AND look cute!

P.s. I would be more than happy to write out the pattern for the hat if there’s interesst, just let me know in the comments below!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun, Projects and Crafty Things

3 responses to “What I Made: A Baby Hat!

  1. Carrie

    Bonnie, I would love to have the pattern! So adorable.

  2. This is really cute. I’d love the pattern. Isn’t it amazing and fun when you look at something and realize you can do that?

  3. Pingback: Baby Bear Hat Pattern | ink & squid

Leave a Reply

